JPHiP Radio (14/200 @ 128 kbs)     Now playing: Straightener - A Song Runs Through World

Author Topic: The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)  (Read 79114 times)

Offline ebc

  • Administrator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 6017
  • >:|
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« on: March 21, 2006, 02:17:18 AM »
New spam thread for geeks.


MY WORK INTERNET GOT UPGRADED!!

IT'S NOW 1Mbit DOWN AND UP YAAAY!!


*is now setting up DC++ hub  8)  8)
« Last Edit: January 01, 2010, 10:51:45 AM by Davetron »

Offline netter2k

  • Member
  • Posts: 38
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2006, 06:49:33 AM »
Duo Core Processors from Intel are supposed to rock. See that guy's DELL configuration up above? Now that is awesome !

I would really enjoy playing Quake 4 on a system like that !

Offline ebc

  • Administrator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 6017
  • >:|
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2006, 03:13:23 PM »
^ I just got a 6600 the other day, it's quite fast :D
I'll do a quake 4 benchmark and see how it goes.

Offline Asmodai

  • By the sea
  • Global Moderator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 10953
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2006, 04:16:54 PM »
If it would ever arrive!


It was supposed to ship yesterday, but still hasn't. They're looking into it and will call me back... :o

Offline ebc

  • Administrator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 6017
  • >:|
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2006, 04:15:38 PM »
Ok I recorded a Quake 4 netdemo, instructions here: http://www.iddevnet.com/quake4/NetworkDemos
 
And I ran it over 1152x864 and 1600x1200 both on high detail presets
1152x864 got 139fps
1600x1200 got 75fps
 
Machine specs are:
Core 2 Duo e6600 @ default speed of 2.4
1gig Corsair ddr2 800mhz 5-5-5-12 (lol it was pretty cheap nothing to brag about)
Asus P5B Vanilla
XFI 7800GT 256mb @ default clock 450core 1050mem
 
Not much else to say really
 
oh, Quake 3 Time demo gets 819fps on 1152x864 everything high
and 697fps on 1600x1200 everything high
I remember getting 50fps with my GF2mx, those were good days :D

Offline Asmodai

  • By the sea
  • Global Moderator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 10953
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2006, 04:25:07 PM »
Nice ebc! :)

I'll need to test mine when it arrives.

How much of a difference does the 800mhz memory make?

My PC comes with 2gb of 533mhz, but it supports 800mhz. When I upgrade to 4gb should I replace it all with 800mhz?

Offline ebc

  • Administrator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 6017
  • >:|
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2006, 04:35:36 PM »
It just makes more memory bandwidth.
To be honest I doubt you'd notice a difference. Just the fact you're using a Core 2 Duo makes everything extremely fast :D

Offline Asmodai

  • By the sea
  • Global Moderator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 10953
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2006, 11:40:40 PM »
I cancelled the Dell since there were indeterminable shipping delays. Going to build it myself - hopefully with better components:

This will be my first PC I'm building completely from scratch.

I'm inexperienced in the realm of planning cooling and the like, so please let me know if you see anything missing or that would be a bad idea. Thanks! :)

CPU:  Intel Core 2 Duo E6400

Motherboard: ASUS P5NSLI ATX LGA775 Conroe Nforce 570

RAM: Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-5400C4 2GB 2X1GB PC5400 DDR2-667

Video Card: EVGA GeForce 7900 GTO (only the one - not really planning SLI currently. I already own this so it won't be changing.)

HDD:  Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB SATA2

Case: Coolermaster CAC-T05 Centurion 5 Aluminum ATX Tower Case 5X5.25 1X3.5 4X3.5INT SILVER-BLACK

PS:  Fortron FSP SAGA AX500-A 500W ATX12V 2.0 24PIN Blue Storm Power Supply

Optical:  LG GSA-H10N DVD+RW 16X8X16 DVD-RW 16X6X16 Dual Layer 10X/6X DVD-RAM 12X Writer 2MB Black OEM W/ SW

Monitor:  Acer AL2216WBD 22IN Widescreen LCD Monitor Black 1680X1050 700:1 5MS VGA DVI-D Monitor

Plus SATA and IDE cables and  Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition OEM.

I'm also debating adding a Logitech G15 Keyboard for the coolness factor.

Offline leonheartx

  • Kamei's turtle
  • ecchi
  • Member+
  • Posts: 175
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2006, 11:44:21 PM »
looks good to me. powerful machine there and plenty of power to run it ;)

i need to get a job to upgrade my pc T_T or maybe just build a new one heh

Offline Asmodai

  • By the sea
  • Global Moderator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 10953
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2006, 01:46:42 AM »
And it's ordered.


Should arrive in 1-6 days then I'll need to spend a few days on assembly.

Offline leonheartx

  • Kamei's turtle
  • ecchi
  • Member+
  • Posts: 175
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2006, 02:34:05 AM »
a few days to assemble? why so long? =P

Offline Asmodai

  • By the sea
  • Global Moderator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 10953
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2006, 04:50:59 AM »
Uh, school. Plus first time building from scratch so I'm a little worried about stuff like putting the thermal grease on the CPU and hooking everything up right.

Offline leonheartx

  • Kamei's turtle
  • ecchi
  • Member+
  • Posts: 175
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2006, 05:26:26 AM »
ahh i see. i guess thats a good idea =P dont wanna do anything that will shorten the computer's lifespan xD

too bad you didnt go with AMd hehe, most of their new CPU/Heatsink combos already have a thermal pad on it. ive never dealt with thermal paste, seems confusing to me =P but other than that, installing the other parts should be a breeze.

have fun with your new pc! ^^

Offline ebc

  • Administrator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 6017
  • >:|
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2006, 07:11:23 AM »
lol it's pretty basic asmo, you'll have no trouble.
Intel boxed cpu's all come with a thermal pad thingo on the heatsink too so you pretty much just strap in the cpu, slap on heatsink and push down the clips around the side. Don't turn them, that undoes them, you just push them down as far as they go until they click.
Also you might find it's easier to put the heatsink on before you put the motherboard into the case as well and you might see that when you do put the heatsink on, the motherboard will flex a bit under the tension and that's completely normal all motherboards do it and they're built to withstand it so don't worry.
Just shout out if you have a question.

Offline ebco6226

  • Member
  • Posts: 30
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2006, 02:33:42 PM »
wow asmodai thats a good comp =) but why not spend the extra to get sli ;p or an 7950gtx haha well thats wut i would want =(

Offline Asmodai

  • By the sea
  • Global Moderator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 10953
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2006, 03:56:40 PM »
Quote from: ebc
lol it's pretty basic asmo, you'll have no trouble.
Intel boxed cpu's all come with a thermal pad thingo on the heatsink too so you pretty much just strap in the cpu, slap on heatsink and push down the clips around the side. Don't turn them, that undoes them, you just push them down as far as they go until they click.
Also you might find it's easier to put the heatsink on before you put the motherboard into the case as well and you might see that when you do put the heatsink on, the motherboard will flex a bit under the tension and that's completely normal all motherboards do it and they're built to withstand it so don't worry.
Just shout out if you have a question.

Is it worth replacing the thermal pad with http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=10715&vpn=AS5-3.5&manufacture=ARCTIC%20SILVER

?


I'm not doing SLI because my monitor is only 1680x1050 so I wouldn't see much of an improvement with current games.

I'm better off saving the dough and using to buy a DX10 video card in a couple years.

rascali

  • Guest
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #16 on: October 08, 2006, 01:28:27 AM »
Asmodai,
I'm so happy you didn't order the computer from dell, it's not necessary and (even if YOU don't realize) it's less computer for your money.

It's not hard to build a computer by yourself, even I could do it after some information gathering and reading.

If you need any kind of tips while you're putting together your new one you may ask me, if I can be of any help that is :]

Offline Asmodai

  • By the sea
  • Global Moderator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 10953
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #17 on: October 08, 2006, 06:13:09 AM »
Well I ordered a Logitech G15 keyboard to replace my aging MS Office Keyboard when I get the new computer.


Sigh... I need to stop spending now. :( (And get a good paying job this summer...)

Offline ebc

  • Administrator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 6017
  • >:|
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #18 on: October 12, 2006, 06:33:20 AM »
Picture here

Offline ebc

  • Administrator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 6017
  • >:|
The Geek Post Whore (for the ones who miss out irl)
« Reply #19 on: October 12, 2006, 06:44:34 AM »
Mwahahahahaha! It is my new heatsink!
 
Skythe Ninja Plus SCNJ-1100P

Comes with a 120mm fan which is on there but not in that pic.
Current clock is 3.46ghz (default was 2.4)
:D

JPHiP Radio (14/200 @ 128 kbs)     Now playing: Straightener - A Song Runs Through World