JPHiP Radio (18/200 @ 128 kbs)     Now playing: Ogre You Asshole - Coin Laundry

Author Topic: Survival Horror "& similars" thread  (Read 34393 times)

Offline Yuna

• ecchi
  • Member+
Survival Horror "& similars" thread
« on: May 08, 2010, 02:59:13 AM »
I'm a big fan of Survival Horrors, since Resident Evil 1 or even Alone in the Dark days and And this week I started playing Alan Wake. Since survival horror is turning out to be a niche genre I thought it was better to talk about all of them together in a simple thread, especially when we want to make comparisons.

Anyway, back to
Alan Wake

Newest game from Remedy, the makers of Max Payne.If I were to compare this game to a movie, I'd say it is more like a thriller than horror. But it still has its spooky moments. But from a Fatal Frame or Silent Hill player, so far, there's still a mile to catch up in terms of scare factor. But not that this game isn't good, because what it lacks in story it is delivering in good plot.

I'm at the beginning of chapter 3 of the game, and by what I've heard there's only 6. So yeah, it's kind of short, and so far pretty easy. But not in a bad way. It's easy for you to die, but the same is true for your enemies, so if you think back to Resident Evil where you have to unload loads of ammo, every foe falls pretty fast.

What I'm really liking in this game is the mood. when you're supposed to feel safe, you do; when you're supposed to feel tense, you do; questioning yourself, and everything else, just like the main character.
This makes me feel this should be a new direction of the Silent Hill franchise, since it seems they've lost some track after the original team did SH3. I'm not a die hard SH fan, I don't even consider myself a SH fan but fans complain so much. Konami has such a big franchise, they should just call it Silent Hill but do a complete change, but of course, maintaining the survivor horror aspect.