JPHiP Radio (16/200 @ 128 kbs)     Now playing: Sweets - on the way - yakusoku no basho he -

Author Topic: Guild Wars 2  (Read 5164 times)

Offline Stryfe

• Tech Mod
  • Member+
Guild Wars 2
« on: May 31, 2015, 06:00:36 PM »

Guild Wars 2 came out in 2012 already but I only started playing it recently since it's frequently on sale now. There's no subscription fees so I thought I'd give it a shot. And well, it's pretty much all I've been playing since I started.

It's a traditional MMO but one that fixes many annoyances of the genre... there's no camping, loot/kill stealing or errand quests to name a few. There's spontaneous teamwork, heaps of conveniences and pretty much everything you do rewards you in some way. I mean, admiring a view gives you experience. And it feels like a... fair game. That goes a long way.

Me, shirenu, Flyp and Kakashi-tan are on Aurora Glade (EU) which is also the home of the Jphip guild, The Rearguard. Just holler at me (Stryfe.5849) for an invite.

In GW2, you can play together regardless of the server you're on as long as the servers are in the same region. You can also join a EU server even if you're in the US etc. But you can also just join the guild from a US server if you only want to chat and stuff.

There's also people on other servers, most notably our grizzled GW2 veteran xyish on Crystal Desert (US). And probably more all around.

The IGN review is pretty comprehensive. You can also watch the Angry Joe Review. (Spoiler: He gave it a 10/10)

New expansion, Heart of Thorns coming up soon. xy's been beta-testing, maybe he can make a post about it.

--

Here's my cast of characters so far. From left to right:

Thaketey, Human Ranger (level 80) - My main. I used the same name for my Lotro hunter and the name comes from youknowwho.
Áshilda Vígdjarfr, Norn Guardian (27) - Pretty much my recreation of Lagertha from Vikings.
Yerynn, Human Elementalist (31) - she ended up looking like a kpop chick which was completely coincidental.