JPHiP Radio (24/200 @ 128 kbs)     Now playing: Secret - Madonna

Author Topic: [KOJIYUU + VARIOUS] Sophrosyne - [14/01/03] Chapter 1  (Read 3992 times)

Offline T-ERU

[KOJIYUU + VARIOUS] Sophrosyne - [14/01/03] Chapter 1
« on: December 16, 2013, 12:41:17 AM »
a/n: hi, a new writer here. there's not much to say, but i've been writing fanfics since 2011 on various sites, especially soshified and asianfanfics. my grammar is a mess and english isn't my first language, but i do study hard and hopefully it'll be tolerable.
this is my first chaptered 48 fanfic, so i'm partly thrilled and partly anxious on how this will turn out.
thank you for your time.
credits to a plotting buddy, areeya, who gave time to listen to my pointless mind dumps.

sophrosyne (n.)
a healthy state of mind, characterized by self-control, moderation, and a deep awareness of one's true self, and resulting in true happiness.

Prologue

She's always there—Haruna notices. It's always room 220, not 219 or 221, but 220. She's there and never anywhere else. Of the countless times Haruna visits her sister in the hospital, she's there. Always. She never looks her way or blinks an eye at the sudden stranger in the room. Maybe she does, but Haruna never sees it. No one ever visits her either. Maybe they do, but never when Haruna's there. She always gazes out the window and Haruna can't say she always sees her—she doesn't.
The flowers on her nightstand are changed occasionally. Her mug sported a different character each day. Her hair is almost always pulled back into a neat ponytail, but there are rare days where it's left down over her shoulders.
That's the only changes she notices, though. Her sister says she's a nice girl, always asking how she's doing and how well her healing process was going so far. Haruna knows nothing about her and she shouldn't. They're only strangers after all.

"What's her name?" Haruna asks, their topic of conversation subtly drifting toward the stranger in room 220.