JPHiP Radio (25/200 @ 128 kbs)     Now playing: L`Arc~en~Ciel - Suna Dokei

Author Topic: Firefox 3 High CPU Use? Try This Fix.  (Read 2296 times)

Offline ziggurat

  • sweetsplash heartbeat
  • Member+
  • Posts: 1957
« Last Edit: July 22, 2008, 09:18:49 AM by ziggurat »

Jab <3 marimari <3 ChrNo~ your spirit shall live forever.. T_T || zgy@last.fm

Offline frblckstr1

  • The Archive
  • ecchi
  • Member+
  • Posts: 5358
Re: Firefox 3 High CPU Use? Try This Fix.
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2008, 12:15:50 PM »
^ or... use IE? :rofl:

(BTW I am also using FireFox 3.x half the time)

Offline tamatron

  • Evil Super Villain
  • ecchi
  • Member+
  • Posts: 11072
  • Arse Gratia Arse
Re: Firefox 3 High CPU Use? Try This Fix.
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2008, 01:23:11 PM »
Thank you, zig!!!



Offline Asmodai

  • By the sea
  • Global Moderator
  • Member+
  • *
  • Posts: 10953
Re: Firefox 3 High CPU Use? Try This Fix.
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2008, 10:56:38 PM »
Easy tweak to do. Thanks for the advice.

Offline bokunosonzai

  • the Fallen
  • ecchi
  • Member+
  • Posts: 415
Re: Firefox 3 High CPU Use? Try This Fix.
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2008, 10:40:08 AM »
Thanks for this Ziq :wub:....and here i was actually considerin' ignoring the frequent freezes.


If only...

Offline JFC

  • Miki's Birthday Twin
  • ecchi
  • Member+
  • Posts: 26641
Re: Firefox 3 High CPU Use? Try This Fix.
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2008, 09:02:57 PM »
If you want to tweak more about:config value, you can refer to this: http://www.blogsdna.com/372/21-aboutconfig-hackstweaks-for-firefox-3.htm to avoid thrashing your firefox :P
I just did every single speed tweak on this site. :lol:  Also did the one to allow more tabs on my screen before it scrolls as well as having a single close tab button on the side instead of having one in each tab. :thumbsup

Thanks zigg!

JPH!P :heart:'s Fushigidane, ChrNo, Jab & marimari. Always.

Offline Pinkosa

  • (:
  • ecchi
  • Member+
  • Posts: 2470
Re: Firefox 3 High CPU Use? Try This Fix.
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2008, 10:52:11 PM »
This is cool, thanks Zig!

Offline xerony

  • ecchi
  • Member+
  • Posts: 293
Re: Firefox 3 High CPU Use? Try This Fix.
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2008, 02:20:52 PM »
That's a useful page zigg. Many thanks.
For other people using firefox on an slightly older pc and still find it too heavy.
You can also use iceweasel, a de-branded light variant of firefox http://sourceforge.net/projects/iw4win

Offline Saburo

  • 愛の戦士
  • ecchi
  • Member+
  • Posts: 5755
  • 乾杯 BABY!
    • Tanikaze
    • Tanikaze
Re: Firefox 3 High CPU Use? Try This Fix.
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2008, 12:02:00 AM »
OT: my Firefox still gets stuck/RAM overload when I access My Space and/or Facebook.  Updated all the relevant plugins and it still happens.  Now the Flash Player upgrade won't work on a couple ESPN sites (was OK yesterday but now it's redirecting me to the "upgrade your Flash page). 

Will a complete reinstall of Firefox 3 do the trick, including add-ons, etc (for a while I thought my adblock file was bloating things but now I'm not so sure).


p.s. I DO have the "about:config" set as outlined in the first post.

JPHiP Radio (25/200 @ 128 kbs)     Now playing: L`Arc~en~Ciel - Suna Dokei